Door County Maritime Museum is pleased to announce that the tugboat John Purves in Sturgeon Bay, the Death’s Door Maritime Museum in Gills Rock, and the Cana Island Lighthouse in Baileys Harbor are all open for the 2021 season as of Saturday, May 1st.
Built in 1919 as the Butterfield, the John Purves has been painstakingly restored and outfitted to take visitors back to the days when she was dressed in Roen Steamship Company colors. The Death’s Door Maritime Museum celebrates the area’s commercial fishing tradition. Cana Island is Door County’s most iconic lighthouse, celebrating more than 150 years of standing watch on the shore of Lake Michigan. All DCMM locations are open seven days a week; see below for hours of operation.